What are the options for traffic citations?
Handling of Criminal Cases (for those 17 years old or older):
If You Do Not Want To Appear In Court you may pay your fine in full.
Payment of fines constitutes a plea of nolo contendere (no contest) and waiver of trial by judge or jury. This option may result in a conviction appearing on either a criminal record or a driver’s license record.
Are Payment Plans available?
The State of Texas requires that all fines and fees are payable at the time of sentencing. However, you must complete, sign and submit a payment plan request form to the court in person, by mail, or email to make payment arrangements PRIOR to making any payments.
Partial payments are not accepted without a plea on file from the defendant.
Failure to contact the court by the appearance date on the citation may result in additional charges being filed and issuance of an arrest warrant.
To view the fine amount due on your case:
You may request to take a Driving Safety Course for ticket dismissal.
This option is not available to holders of a commercial driver’s license or persons not holding a valid Texas driver license.
You may request Deferred Disposition,
What is Deferred Disposition? A Deferred Disposition is a suspended sentence. Upon your plea of “Guilty” or “No Contest”, the Court may defer a finding of guilt until a later date, assess court costs and fees, and order you to comply with certain terms and conditions for a certain period of time. If you successfully comply with the terms and conditions, your case will be dismissed without a conviction. This option is only available for approved offenses and not available to holders of a commercial driver’s license. Contact the Court to discuss this option.
You may plea not guilty and request a Trial.
Click here to complete form & send to court.
What are dismissible traffic offenses?
Certain offenses may be dismissed upon providing proof to the court, in person, on or before the appearance date on your citation. This cannot be handled online. Examples include:
1. Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility: It is a defense to prosecution if the person charged produces in court a motor vehicle liability insurance policy or a certificate of self-insurance previously issued to that person that was valid at the time that the offense is alleged to have occurred.
2. Expired Driver’s License: A judge may dismiss a charge of driving with an expired driver’s license if the defendant remedies the defect within 10 working days. When the defendant provides proof of the remedy to the court and pays a $10 administrative fee by the appearance date on the citation, this charge may be dismissed.
3. Expired Registration: A justice of the peace may dismiss a charge of driving with an expired motor vehicle registration if the defendant:
– Remedies the defect not later than the 10th working day after the date of the offense;
– establishes that the LATE PENALTY FEE has been paid;
– pays an fine of $20 to the court by the appearance date on the citation, then charge may be dismissed.